edmonds anzac biscuits recipe

July 30, 2007 at 11:00 am 5 comments

On Friday morning when I got up I realised that we really didn’t have anything tasty to have with our morning coffee. Since it was only about 8:30am and my Mr was still in bed, I decided I had time to bake a little something.

The butter supply was looking a bit paltry, and having received the Mr’s request for French toast the night before, I knew that I had to save the two eggs that were in the fridge. I started looking through the Edmonds cookbook, trying to find recipes calling for not too much butter and no eggs. I’m finding the Edmonds more and more useful lately – several times I’ve tried recipes from it for the first time, and the results are always perfect. The ingredients are basic, the methods are simple, the end-products are delicious.

The edition of the Edmonds cookbook that I have is from 1962, and I’m sure that the new editions are even better but except for the odd measurement (the whole ‘teacup’ thing is a bit archaic), it’s been serving me well.

The recipe for Anzac biscuits caught my eye, so that was what I made. Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients

  • 2 oz flour
  • 3 oz sugar
  • 1 teacup coconut
  • 1 teacup rolled oats
  • 2 oz butter
  • 1 tablespoon golden syrup
  • 1 teaspoon soda
  • 2 tablespoons boiling water

Preparation 

Mix together flour, sugar, coconut, and rolled oats. Melt butter and golden syrup.  Dissolve soda in the boiling water and add to butter and golden syrup. Make a well in the centre of the flour,
stir in the liquid. Place in spoonfuls on cold greased trays. Bake 15 to 20 minutes at 350F.

simmer down notes:

  • I couldn’t be bothered researching on the internet for exactly how much a teacup is in modern measuring language. There is a vaguely helpful comparison table at the beginning of the book that led me to the fairly logical conclusion that a teacup is basically a bit less than a regular cup. I guess I measured about four-fifths of a cup for the teacup measures.
  • I didn’t use proper rolled oats. We have quick-cooking oats in the cupboard, and they worked in the recipe.
  • The coconut I used was very dessicated, and sweetened. I think that was probably the right stuff.
  • Maybe because my oven isn’t calibrated correctly, these cooked very quickly. I heated the oven only to about 160-170 – it tends to get too hot – and they only took 10 minutes to get dark on the bottom, and crisp.
Entry filed under: cookies and biscuits, eating, recipe. Tags: .

a very delicious dinner it’s alive!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Arik  |  July 30, 2007 at 4:45 pm

    Your “Mr” has a name you know !
    He is the one who did the dishes – remember? yes. That one :P
    BTW, Great cookies – totally worth doing piles and piles and piles of dishes

    Reply
  • 2. Carol  |  August 26, 2009 at 5:06 pm

    You have a 1962 Edmonds cookbook. It might be the one that has a recipe I am really keen to have. My 35 year old son came home tonight and asked for a cake recipe that he would have last seen or eaten when he was 10 or so. He want’s to make it for a friend for her birthday.

    It is what I call a caramel cake. I am pretty sure that it had a shortcake base, the caramel was made with condensed milk and I am sure that there was meringue on top. I am sure it is in your recipe book and I would appreciate it, if you do find it, that you would send it to me.

    Regards

    Carol Skilton

    Reply
    • 3. girlinta  |  September 8, 2009 at 9:34 pm

      Sorry for the delay in responding to your comment – I have been overseas. I found the recipe in my Edmonds, and I’ll post it within the next few days.

      Reply
  • 4. Sandy Austin  |  July 13, 2011 at 4:52 am

    I just made a batch of ANZAC biscuits using the 1962 edition Edmonds cookery book – and uploaded a pic to my photostream in Flickr.
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/sondyaustin/5931797571/in/photostream

    Reply
  • 5. Curt  |  August 4, 2013 at 9:30 am

    Everything is very open with a clear clarification of the issues.
    It was truly informative. Your site is extremely helpful.
    Many thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

