un-american sweet potato pie recipe

September 17, 2006 at 4:51 pm 4 comments

After searching the internet for a decent sweet potato pie recipe and finding only american-style over-sweetened recipes stuffed with cranberries or marshmallows, I ended up using a combination of an old favourite and my own instincts. The pastry is from Alison Holst, and the thing turned out fabulously well, and reheated the day after well, and two days later just as well. Here’s the recipe:

Pastry:

  • Fit food processor with metal cutting blade. Add 1 cup flour and add 60-70g cold butter cut into pieces. Acidify 1/4 cup cold water with 1-2 tsp lemon juice. Using pulse button, add water in thin stream while butter is chopped into the flour
  • Roll pastry out and line tart pan or whatever else you have that’s the right size

Filling:

  • Roast two large sweet potatoes for about 40 minutes; mash (not too thoroughly)
  • Fry chopped onion until dark and soft
  • Mix together:
    3 eggs
    1/2 cup soft white cheese/quark/cream cheese/sour cream
    1/4 cup milk
    1 1/2 cups grated cheese
    salt, pepper, nutmeg
  • Add the cooled sweet potatoes and onions to the milky mixture, pour into pastry shell
  • Bake for 20 minutes at 220C, then for 10 minutes at 180C, if necessary to set the filling
Entry filed under: recipe, sweet potato.

udon know how good this soup is sweet potato salad recipe

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anita Fei  |  September 19, 2006 at 9:22 am

    I’ve been wondering what to do with the sweet potatoes I got from the market, and stumbled accross your recipe – does it fit an 8″ dish? Or would it be thicker and require longer baking?

    Reply
  • 2. girlinta  |  September 19, 2006 at 4:20 pm

    Hi Anita,

    This recipe is specifically for an 8″-size quiche, so it should work out great! I’ve added another tried-and-true sweet potato recipe which is maybe a bit more appropriate for summer.

    Good luck, and thanks for reading me!

    Reply
  • 3. Your hubby  |  September 21, 2006 at 10:28 am

    This was the tastiest sweet potato pie I have ever eaten. In fact I would go as far as saying it was the tastiest pie of all sorts I have ever eaten. Can we have it again for dinner sometime soon?

    Reply
  • 4. miko plasticsurgery  |  April 16, 2013 at 12:17 pm

    First off I want to say awesome blog! I had a quick question in which
    I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to find out how you center yourself and clear your mind before writing. I have had a tough time clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out there. I truly do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to be wasted simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any recommendations or tips? Kudos!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



