angry day at the office

September 27, 2006 at 2:05 pm 1 comment

So I’m sitting in a meeting in Vancouver, welcome to my working day. And the people in the room are sharing such a huge amount of information, so little of which is actually relevant. They should have had a bloody internal meeting before calling on us at all. And then the people around me expect me to sift through all the rubbish and define what bits were important.

So I tell them gently that if there is something that they consider to be important, then they must pipe up and say: this is important, let’s summarise it. Instead they sit there saying little, and understanding less, and expecting me to capture it all so they can go: ”Oh! Is THAT what they were talking about.

And the presenter keeps telling stories, anecdotes, relevant analogies and other things that are of no use to me, none whatsoever. And they have all their excuses, of course. Like “well, this is the way the meeting is running, they’re controlling it…”. Well dude, if you don’t want it to be that way, if that way is not good for us, for our company, then change it. Speak more. Lead the conversation – just once an hour! Show some responsibility. Show some initiative, you silent mutant.

Made myself feel better by sharing some gum with the woman beside me. Explained that it was from Wal-Mart, as she had previously doubted the wonder of that establishment. I personally hold it in high regard, I kinda don’t care that it’s ruining middle America and ma and pa stores. I don’t live here. I don’t care. If I can get cheap chocolate, toothpaste and chewing gum, I’m all for it, baby.

One of the most annoying people here is the girl who opens her eyes wide, smiles and nods when talking to people about ‘issues’. That’s the worst. If you’re saying a bad thing, don’t smile at me.

Really trying to stay calm, because we still have to review tonight … praying and hoping that it doesn’t take more than a couple of hours. When will I get to Chinatown? When will I get my noodle soup? And you know what else? That I didn’t get to bed until 11:55pm, after traveling for over 24 hours to get here? On uncomfortable Air Canada, I don’t remember them being so sub-standard. And then the jet-lag woke me up at 4am, and I lay there trying to sleep, and thinking it was later than it was, and eventually got up at 4:45am out of sheer frustration.

So now it’s 4:59pm and I still have more busy-work ahead of me and I have to calm down, it’s inhumane, what I’m doing to myself. If only I had a kitchen. One thing I love about them, they finish AT 5pm. They get very antsy at 5:01pm. And so they should. You GO, Canadians!

And now, another dude starts ranting … it’s funny, what you don’t realise is that the only reason that you have a chance to say anything is because now that it’s 5:04pm, everybody is sitting shtum, just waiting to go home! Of course you have a captive audience … they’re boring holes in your chest wishing you’d explode or self-immolate so they can stop yawning and go home! You fool, you ignorant, hair-gelled fool. THREE people have started packing up their cables, lady. Take a hint. And the Canadians aren’t saying a word, not a whisper. The guy running the meeting pointed out that we’d agreed to go until 5. It is now 5:10pm. Just stop it, man, stop the madness.

Okay, now it’s 6:04pm and they’re talking about things totally unrelated to what I’m here to achieve. A guy just walked in and said “ok, sorry to stop you in the middle of all the excitement, but let’s have a checkpoint”. And … we’re off! Blah, blah, blah. Please sir, may I be excused? No, no, we’re starting now. Yeah. WhatEVA.

Entry filed under: anger rants, frustrations and rants, office, walmart.

sweet potato salad recipe another angry day

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Gautam Asaf  |  October 21, 2007 at 11:47 pm

    they’ll have you suicidal suicida. Gautam Asaf.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



