crying over spilt coffee

July 4, 2007 at 6:15 am 2 comments

I’m typing with one hand right now because I spilled coffee on the other one. I had a bottle of water under one arm, a Milky with an apple balanced on top, and the coffee. So I pick up the coffee and the Milky, the apple falls, I react by trying to get it with the other hand, but that’s the hand with the coffee … made a mess. Sitting here with the burned coffee hand in a cup of cold water. It stings! L I got coffee on my clothes, too. I knew I should cut back on the Milky and coffee breakfasts. I said to myself yesterday AND today: it’s time to get back to granola and yoghurt, and a bit of fruit. But then I see that Milky Moccachino, and I can’t resist.

Apparently it’s normal to start losing one’s mind when pregnant. I didn’t know the deterioration would start quite so early, though – I’m only half-way through! In another few months there’s no telling what damage I could do to myself. It started with the little things like putting the milk in the cupboard instead of the fridge, and has already advanced to dangerous levels of clumsiness … I’m worried. And now for the official burn victim update … I’ve just filled the sixth cup of cold water in which to soothe my pinkish fingers. At least there’s one benefit – as a consequence I’m drinking a lot of water, because as soon as the water isn’t icy anymore, I drink it and pour myself another cup. What else am I going to do with all that water? Besides, my hands are clean … I bloody well sterilised them in that boiling coffee, didn’t I? The doctor tried to tell me that now that I’m pregnant I must drink plenty of water – she insisted on two litres a day. I barely manage one and a half, and even that is only through a valiant battle of wills. It’s basically a battle between the will and the bladder. It goes something like this: 

  • Will: It’s essential to drink more water.
  • Bladder: But I’m full!
  • Will: For your health, you have to do it.
  • Bladder: But we went to pee two minutes ago and now we need to go again!
  • Will: Think about the unborn child, woman!
  • Bladder: The foetus is my neighbour – and it says it’s not thirsty.
  • Will: Stop your complaining, here comes another cup …

Entry filed under: eating, frustrations and rants, pregnant life.

if I were a lady of leisure … strange pregnany effects that come in threes

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Arik  |  July 5, 2007 at 5:09 am

    That was funny 🙂
    I hope you didnt ruin one of the tops my mom sent you.
    How is the hand? Will you recover?

    Reply
  • 2. Sophie  |  July 5, 2007 at 5:11 am

    I cleaned it up somehow, with my undamaged hand. I don’t think I’ll be scarred for life, but I may never play the piano again …

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



