prenancy fashion trauma

July 22, 2007 at 8:56 am 5 comments

Recently, I bought some gorgeous (but expensive) maternity jeans from TopShop. They aren’t as dark as I like, but they’re a perfect shape and a nice texture denim. Like with many artificially faded jeans these days, the middle of the leg is more faded than the edges; the denim is a bit darker around the hips and at the very bottom of the leg. The only problem is the length – the leg is a good 10 centimetres too long for a shorty like me, and given that I don’t wear heels to work most of the time, they’re bordering on useless for day-to-day use.

These jeans look great with heels, but I figured that if I want to wear them with any frequency, I have to have them at a length that is suitable for flats. The problem with THAT is that it means cutting off the section of darker denim at the bottom of the leg. I wrote to Angie at www.youlookfab.com to ask if I have any choice – do I just have to hack off the bit I like best at the bottom? Angie wrote back that I was right; I had no choice but to shorten them.

The day after receiving her advice, I went to the seamstress to get the job done – only to find her closed. I took the jeans back home and decided to re-think my entire approach to the dilemma. I started rifling through my many drawers of shoes and eventually came up with about 10 pairs of shoes that I CAN wear with the jeans in their current, long-legged state (a selection is pictured here). Only about half of them are suitable for work, but I decided that would suffice. Today I’m wearing said jeans, with my red high-heeled Dr Scholl’s that my Mr bought me back in 2003!

I thought that I’d doubly solved my problem when I went to oldnavy.com and saw some lovely maternity jeans for sale at US$16.99. After finding a friend in the US who agreed to send them on to me, I placed an online order.

Misery of miseries, though – today I got an email from Old Navy that my order had been rejected because of the weird credit card I’m using – oh no, it’s INTERNATIONAL. I’ve emailed them back to explain that I’m using a foreign credit card that I have used in-store at Old Navy, and would they PLEASE reinstate my order? If I can get those jeans too, I’ll be set!

Entry filed under: pregnant life, wardrobe issues.

one of those days spinal kicks and repetitive dreams

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. T  |  August 4, 2007 at 7:04 am

    You OWN more than 10 pairs of shoes?

    Reply
  • 2. Me  |  August 5, 2007 at 8:02 am

    Dude, I AM a girl. And it’s a collection built up over many years, I swear. And because I have so many, they all stay in decent condition! See how that works? Two of the pairs in the picture were purchased pre-2001 and I STILL wear them. The newest pair there is over a year old. Old shoes never die … they just get reintroduced to the wardrobe after five years …

    Reply
  • 3. T  |  August 5, 2007 at 8:11 pm

    Dude, I AM a girl, too, and I have 2 pairs of sneakers, 2 pairs of flip flops, 2 pairs of sandals, one pair of dress shoes, and a pair of winter boots. And I’ve never in my life owned as many shoes as I own today. I was feeling very extravagent and feminine till I read your post.

    Reply
  • 4. girlinta  |  August 6, 2007 at 8:24 am

    Well, you should feel proud of yourself. There’s no glory in buying a pair of shoes and not wearing them for five years (the blue ones in the bottom-left of the picture – I actually wore them yesterday). Yesterday I threw out a pair of sneakers and I’m thinking that I should cull some more shoes … it’s not extravagant and feminine to own as many shoes as I do, it’s just STOOPID. I’ve slowed down my purchasing massively in the last few years and it’s a very good thing. It just feels bad to chuck something that’s in perfectly good condition … then again if I really don’t wear them, what choice do I have? Hardly anybody buys second-hand here and besides, who would want second-hand shoes? So out on the street they go – and if I go and check in a few hours, they’ll be gone.

    Reply
  • 5. MAN-MAN  |  May 6, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    gurl i have more shoes than i will ever think of wearing lol and it is just me cause ILOVE TO SHOP and i know every other lady out there does to it is just our thing lol and every ine knows it to so to all yall men dont mess with us why we are shopping

    I LOVE YOU GUYS

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



