apple crumble, more or less

August 7, 2007 at 9:44 am Leave a comment

I just had to add another recipe,  I can’t handle the rat being the first post and picture, it’s stressing me out too much. This is what I made last night after coming home from the pregnancy yoga class. The Superfoods cookbook recipe isn’t in front of me but I think this is how it went:

Ingredients

  • four cooking apples (such as Granny Smith)
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
     
  • 1/3 cup flour 
  • 1/3 cup dark brown sugar, packed
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 3 tablespoons butter 
  • 1/2 cup old-fashioned oats 
  • 1/4 cup chopped walnuts

Method

Preheat oven to 175 degrees Celsius. Peel, core, and thinly slice the apples. Mix with the sugar and cinnamon. Place in 9-inch pie dish, flatten. Mix the flour, sugar, salt, and cinnamon. Cut in the butter until the mixture forms crumbs. Stir in the oats and nuts.

simmer down notes:

  • Used six small apples. 
  • Used regular sugar instead of granulated.
  • I think that less than quarter of a cup could be used with the apples – or maybe less in the topping … it didn’t need to be so sweet. Especially if you’re intending to eat it with vanilla chocolate chip icecream.
  • Used quick oats instead of old-fashioned.
  • Used hazelnuts instead of walnuts.
  • I know that the above changes aren’t particularly dramatic, but I figure I should at least be honest about what I really cooked. And by the way, it’s not that I pride myself on putting some original spin on a basic recipe, it’s just that as I’ve said before, I’ve searched for and not found granulated sugar. And if I go looking for walnuts in the fridge and cupboards and don’t find, I don’t have much choice except to use a different nut. I’d personally love to be able to follow each recipe that I find to the letter, but it rarely happens.

This is, as you can probably see, a very easy and quick recipe. I managed to make as much of a mess in the kitchen as if I’d made a whole meal, though, for a number of reasons:

  • My corer does have a peeling capability, but my regular peeler is better, so obviously I used both.
  • When I started thinly slicing the apples I immediately got bored, so I used my mandolin instead.
  • To mix the crumble topping I used the little bowl in the Magimix, but in the process I also spilled cinnamon into the big bowl.
  • A good teaspoon’s worth of flour drifted all over the work surface.

I cleaned up the utensil over-kill and general mess pretty quickly, though, as I didn’t want to risk getting any comments like: “All this for a little dessert??”. So instead I got compliments on the crumble and general appreciation, and everybody’s happy! I ate my serving with yoghurt, he had his with icecream.

Entry filed under: eating, recipe.

awful, horrible dreams … not for the squeamish love your work

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



