cheesecake repeat performance

August 14, 2007 at 5:44 pm 1 comment

I wrote about this cheesecake previously on May 27, but I couldn’t be bothered translating it for the site. Since I’m going to make it again, I figure I might as well type it out in English just to help myself
out a bit. It’s an incredibly delicious recipe – last time I used 5% cheese, not 9%, and I don’t think it suffered at all. I did find that the base was a bit soggy, but I’m wondering if that’s because I refrigerated the base, and didn’t freeze it. Not sure. I don’t know how to fix that … maybe I’ll NOT put it on a baking sheet (for drips), as I guess this protects it from the heat … maybe I’ll even put it a bit lower in the oven. I don’t want to play around with it too much but I don’t want a wet base either. Whatever, I guess I’ll figure it out.

CHEESECAKE

Heat oven to 150 degrees.

Base:
1 2/3 cups (170 grams) Petit Beurre biscuits, finely ground
1/4 cup (50 grams) sugar
100 grams melted butter

Filling:
cheese.gif3 pots (750 grams) 9% white cheese
1/2 cup + 1/3 cup (180 grams) sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla essence
6 Number 2 eggs

Topping:
2 pots (400 mls) sour cream
2 tablespoons sugar
2 sachets (20 grams) vanilla sugar

Base:
Mix the biscuits with the sugar and butter. Grease a 26 centimetre tin and squash the crumbs into the base. Freeze for at least 20 minutes; longer is possible.

Filling:
Place the 9% cheese, sugar, and vanilla in a bowl; mix with a hand-mixer. Add the eggs one after the other and mix until uniform.

Bake:
Pour the cheese mixture onto the base, bake for 40-45 minutes, until the cake is stable but still soft in the middle, coming away from the sides of the tin and looks baked enough. (It is recommended to rotate the tin after half an hour of baking.) Remove from the oven and cool for 15 minutes.

Topping:
In a small bowl, mix the sour cream, sugar, and vanilla sugar. Pour this on top of the cheesecake gently, using a spoon, from the edges toward the centre. As the cake is soft, spread the topping gently, so that it doesn’t sink into the middle of the cake. Return the tin to the oven for another 8 minutes. Remove from the oven, cool and refrigerate for at least four hours before serving. This cake will keep in the fridge for up to three days.

Entry filed under: cheesecake, eating, recipe.

chocolate biscuits recipe recipe for rice and spinach bake

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Mouse  |  September 5, 2007 at 10:43 pm

    If it helps any… I realized on the times my cake bottoms were a bit soggy, was due to my having put them in the refridgerator BEFORE they were totally and completely cooled down after baking. The 2 times I got impatient and chilled them too soon, both times the bases were mushy, or wet. After I stopped doing that, my cheesecake bottoms were perefectamundo 🙂 I never freeze by bases, so that can’t be it.

    Hope this helps.

    You can find more yummy cheesecake recipes at a site I just found last week… http://www.cheesecake.dzinecity.com. I already made the white chocolate raspberry cheesecake recipe they have and GAWD was it ever gooood!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



