recipe for roast almond and chocolate chip biscuits

September 10, 2007 at 1:04 pm Leave a comment

 

This recipe appeared in the New Zealand Herald online and it looked irresistible. It’s by Amanda Laird. I made these biscuits on Friday and so far I think that I’ve eaten most of them, unassisted. Part of this recipe’s greatness lies in its simplicity and the ingredients, which are all likely to be in my cupboard at any one time.

Ingredients 

  • 125g butter
  • 1/4 cup caster sugar
  • 3 Tbs condensed milk
  • 3 drops vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup roasted almonds, chopped
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate, chopped
  • 1 1/2 cups plain baking flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder

Method

  • Preheat oven to 180C. Cream butter, sugar, condensed milk and vanilla until pale.
  • Mix the almonds and chocolate into the creamed mixture.
  • Sift the flour and baking powder together then mix all together. Roll teaspoonfuls of the mixture into balls and place on a greased or baking paper-lined tray. Flatten with a fork dipped lightly in flour if desired.
  • Bake for 20 minutes or until golden.

simmer down notes:

  • Due to lack of supply, I used regular sugar instead of caster.
  • I used Callebaut chocolate because I had some and because it’s so good.
  • To roast almonds, spread on foil in a toaster oven and bake at about 160C for 10 minutes, stir and cook for another 5 minutes. When they smell roasted and look a bit darker, they’re done. I didn’t peel the almond before roasting.
  • Although the recipe says that it makes about 20 bisuits. I guess I always roll mine pretty small, as I managed to get over 50. I’m never quite sure what quantity is intended when a recipe says to roll teaspoonfuls. I packed the dough into a measuring teaspoon and then rolled that, which gave quite a small biscuit, and then made the rest about the same size. They might have been a bit more impressive and interesting if they were larger.
Entry filed under: chocolate, cookies and biscuits, eating, recipe.

with the highs come the lows home-made iced tea

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



