end of day dip recipes

September 18, 2007 at 12:03 pm Leave a comment

Yesterday I managed to exhaust myself bit by bit by the general layout that I decided for my day.

Having not yet adjusted to daylight savings time, I woke ridiculously early and was at work by 7am. In my lunch hour I shlepped to the supermarket and vegetable shop – they’re in different locations, which doesn’t help. After getting home, I went out again to get almonds and to pick up my altered jeans, and to go for my monthly pregnancy check-up at the nurses. The check-up only took about 10 minutes but I had to wait in between for an additional 40 minutes.

By the time I got home from the check-up it was dark and I felt like I’d been on the go for 12 hours – which was almost true. My only hope for redeeming the day, of course, was to sink into food preparation mode. I’d been thinking since the day before about two Julie Le Clerc dips, and I had everything I needed at hand. Tonight we’re having the childbirth class at our place – as we did last week – and I wanted to make something nice for snacks. Last week I made a tuna and white cheese dip, put out pretzels, olives, and picked cucumbers, and the left-over roast almond and chocolate chip cookies. The other couple brought grapes.

I don’t know why I felt so inspired to make something special (I consider these dips to be very special). In general I’d feel more inclined to put the effort in for the book club girls, of whom I’m far more fond. I guess I’m trying to impress the doula, or something, so she likes me and wants to support me and to ensure that the best is done for me in the hospital. I don’t know.

These dips are quite labour-intensive, and it really was a lot of work for a couple of little dips, but I guess someone more willing to spend the money could do it in an easier way. I blanched the almonds myself although I could have bought already-blanced, and I pitted the olives myself, instead of buying pitted olives. Those tasks alone took about half an hour.

Anyway, after that lengthy and irrelevant introduction, here are the dips!

red pepper and chilli dip

  • 3 red peppers, halved and deseeded
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 tsp chilli powder
  • 1 tblsp wine vinegar
  • 1 cup blanched almonds, or any preferred nut
  • 1 tsp salt
  1. Preheat oven to 200 degrees C. Lightly rub pepper halves with oil and place in a roasting pan. Roast for 20 minutes or until skins blister. Remove from oven and cover pan or place pepper into a plastic bag to sweat. This makes the skins easier to remove. Peel off skins and discard.
  2. Place pepper flesh, oil, chilli, vinegar and salt into the bowl of a food processor, process to combine. Add almonds and process until smooth – this can take a little time. Adjust seasoning if necessary.
  3. Store in the refrigerator. Lasts about one week.

Makes about 2 cups.

green olive cream

  • 1 cup pitted olives
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 2 tblsp chopped parsley
  • 2 tblsp lemon juice
  • 2 tblsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • salt and pepper
  1. Place olives, garlic and parsley into the bowl of a food processor and pulse to chop.
  2. Add lemon juice, oil and sour cream and process to a smooth cream. Adjust seasoning with salt and pepper to taste.

Makes about 2 cups.

Entry filed under: eating, olives, pregnant life, recipe.

failed challah, successful bread pudding recipe lemon squares recipe

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



