9 weeks

February 7, 2008 at 6:20 pm Leave a comment

Lately, people have been telling me that they don’t remember what it was like when their own babies were as small as ours is now – even a woman the other day whose son is only one year old. I don’t know what to write to help me remember what he’s like now, I can’t begin to imagine. But here are a couple of things:

  • My hand is the length of his back
  • When he’s feeding and I put my hand one his waist, I’m holding half of the circumference of his entire body
  • When he’s relaxed and we have eye contact when he’s feeding, he’ll smile at me; since I can’t see his mouth, I can tell by how his eyes get smaller and his cheeks get bigger
  • He smiles, but not at just anybody
  • When he drops his dummy and I try to put it back in his mouth, he gives me big smiles that also mean that the dummy won’t stay in and he’s completely adorable
  • His pinky toes are long and curled in a very primate-like way
  • He gets fluff between his fingers
  • He seems to complain only when there is something wrong that even I can identify and usually solve – I feel like this might be a special time in that respect: his needs aren’t really a mystery to me, and it’s not something totally out of my control like teething, which is yet to come
  • He’s always adorable, and usually fascinating

Maybe I’ll think of other things later. He’s already 5.8 kilos and feels heavier every time I feed him.

Entry filed under: uncategorized.

2 weeks and 5 days simple pleasures at 10 weeks

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



